Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

OHES Team Receives OSBA’s Excellence Award for Outstanding Leadership

OHES TeachersAlmost two years ago, the Ottawa Hills Elementary faculty began researching collaboration models that would raise the ceiling of potential at OHES. The staff had heard great things about Professional Learning Communities (PLCs) as a results-focused collaboration model, and began doing research about this model. Last summer, on their own time, a team of teachers took ownership of this idea, and joined together in a cohort with the University of Toledo to learn more about it and to develop a plan for implementation in its full capacity at OHES.


Since this cohort of elementary educators was developed, these leaders have taken the reigns to inform and educate staff on this model, and to guide them through the change process to fully adopt this model of working together to improve learning outcomes for students. This leadership team has continued to give up their own time, and has introduced PLCs to their peers in a non-threatening manner, building momentum throughout the school year. The team is now beginning full implementation. Because of this team, the OHES faculty is fully engaged in this change process. 


Early in the new year, building principal, Kori Kawczynski, nominated this team of teachers for the Ohio School Board Association’s Northwest Region “Excellence Award for Outstanding Leadership.” The team received the award and was honored on March 9, 2017 at the OSBA Spring Conference in Lima, Ohio. The members of the team are Rebecca McLean (Library Media Specialist), Jenny Powers (2nd Grade), Wendi Danzeisen (Kindergarten), Melissa Jankowski (Kindergarten), Amy Wolff (3rd Grade), Cheri Palko (6th Grade) and Jonathon Siebenaler (6th Grade). Congratulations PLC Leadership Team!


Back to School News      Print News Article
© 2018 Ottawa Hills Local School District